Events & AttractionsMovies

Horror’s Big Night at the Inaugural Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society Awards

Hollywood largely recognizes the monetary side of horror films.  See Blumhouse Productions’ releases since 2009.  What the critics in LA usually forget to recognize is the outstanding work put forth by the creators of horror films.  On Wednesday, January 10, 2018, the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society (LAOFCS) put an end to that lack-of-recognition at their inaugural awards ceremony at the Taglyan Complex in Los Angeles, California.

Guillermo del Toro
Guillermo del Toro at LAOFCS Awards – Photo Credit: Daiane Daros, LAOFCS

Out of 10 nominations for Best Picture, two were horror films: Get Out and The Shape of WaterThe Shape of Water, the latest feature from renowned Mexican filmmaker Guillermo del Toro, notched an incredible four victories, including the LAOFCS’ top prize for Best Picture.  The other three awards the film collected were for Best Actress (Sally Hawkins), Best Male Director (Guillermo del Toro) and Best Score (Alexandre Desplat).  While del Toro’s work is always open for debate as to what genre it falls into, there is no doubt the director of Pan’s Labyrinth and Crimson Peak can bring some serious visual horror to the screen.

Only one award shy of Water, Get Out was another major winner at the LAOFCS Awards.  The film’s writer/producer/director Jordan Peele won Best Original Screenplay and Best First Feature, while nabbing the Best Sci-Fi/Horror film crown.  Among Sci-Fi/Horror genre heavies like Blade Runner 2049 and Andy Muschietti’s IT, that kind of recognition proves how impactful Get Out was to the top online film critics in the home of motion pictures.

Jordan Peele
Jordan Peele at LAOFCS Awards – Photo Credit: Daiane Daros, LAOFCS

In early December of 2017, a total of 25 categories were announced for the LAOFCS Awards, with more than 40 films vying for awards both in and out of their respective genres.  Horror films were represented in 15 categories (including its own), accounting for a total seven films.  With that kind of showing among LA critics at a non-horror event, expectations for the genre are exceptionally high for 2018.

LAOFCS Awards – Full List of Winners:

Best Picture: The Shape of Water

Best Actress: Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water

Best Actor: Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour

Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney – I, Tonya

Best Supporting Actor: TIE – Patrick Stewart, Logan, Michael Stuhlbarg, Call Me By Your Name

Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, Molly’s Game

Best Original Screenplay: Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Male Director: Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water

Best Female Director: Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird

Best Animated Film: Coco

Best Foreign Film: The Square

Best Documentary: TIE – Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond, Jane

Best Visual Effects: War for The Planet of the Apes

Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins, Blade Runner 2049

Best Blockbuster: Wonder Woman

Best Independent Film: Lady Bird

Best First Feature: Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Comedy or Musical: The Big Sick

Best Action/War: Baby Driver

Best Sci-Fi/Horror: Get Out

Best Actor or Actress 23 and Under: Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Best Stunt Work: Baby Driver

Best Score: Alexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water

Best Editing: Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos, Baby Driver

Best Visual Effect Performance: Andy Serkis, War for the Planet of the Apes

Special Awards: Trailblazer Award: Jessica Chastain

Click here to see the full list of nominees.


Eddie Caiazzo
Eddie Caiazzo – Founder/Editor of Red River Horror – Photo Credit: Seth Webster

Eddie Caiazzo is a four-time Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters (PAB) award-winning radio broadcaster, sports columnist and television producer.  A proud Philadelphian, his experiences at the many local haunted attractions (and his dad’s large horror film collection) instilled in him a love of the horror genre and the Halloween season at a young age. As an avid fan and reader of most online horror-specific news sources, he created Red River Horror as an outlet to share his passion for the genre.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *